President Trump suspends travel from 26 European countries to the United States

The World Health Organization has declared COVID-19 disease to be a pandemic. The United States now has more than 1000 people infected with coronavirus.

In a televised address, the United States President Donald Trump has announced suspension of travel from 26 European countries for the next 30 days in a bid to combat the spread of the Coronavirus. The suspension will be in effect from midnight of Friday, March 13, 2020 and will include the following European countries:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland.

This suspension would not apply to the United Kingdom, where 460 cases of the virus have now been confirmed.

The Department of Homeland Security officials later clarified the travel restrictions would only apply to foreign nationals who had been present in 26 European countries during the last 14 days prior to their arrival to the US. The restrictions will not apply to US citizens, legal permanent residents, and their family members.

President Trump also said the travel suspension would also “apply to the tremendous amount of trade and cargo” coming from Europe into the US. But he later tweeted to say that “trade will in no way be affected” by the new measures.

Please Fill Out the Following Form

We Will Get Back to You Soon