U.S. Supreme Court allows Trump Administration to enforce Travel Ban

The United States (U.S.) Supreme Court in Washington allowed the travel ban by the Trump administration to go into effect even as legal challenges against it continue. The court’s orders mean that the administration can fully enforce its new restrictions on travel to the U.S. from six predominantly Muslim countries.

The ban applies to travelers from Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia and Chad without bona fide connections to the U.S. Citizens of these countries will be unable to emigrate to the U.S. permanently and many will be barred from working, studying or vacationing there. Iran, for example, will still be able to send its citizens on student exchanges, though such visitors will be subject to enhanced screening. Somalis will no longer be allowed to emigrate to the U.S., but may visit with extra screening.

The Supreme Court’s orders effectively overturned a compromise in place since June, when the court said travelers with connections to the United States could continue to travel to the U.S. notwithstanding restrictions in an earlier version of the ban.

Ashwina Pinto, Associate

Keywords: U.S., Supreme Court, Travel ban, Trump administration


The Bar Council of India does not permit solicitation in any form or manner. By accessing this website you acknowledge that you are seeking information of your own accord. This site (lawquestinternational.com) and contents available on this site should not be construed as an attempt to establish a lawyer-client relationship in any manner of whatsoever nature. LawQuest does not assume any responsibility for any acts or omissions arising from the use of information or updates provided on this website and visitors to this site are advised to seek legal advice from any independent and competent counsel of their choice before proceeding to act on any information provided herein. This website is for informational purpose only.